Knitting in Public, Part II

I’m thrilled to report a successful Knit in Public event last night at the Tuesday evening Farmers Market! Once again I loaded the car with my purple bag chair, knitting, and water, and fed the parking meters. Then I spotted them!  Two knitters sat on a shady corner near Bloomingfoods. Others joined us despite the 95 degree heat, and as knitters often do, we began to talk…about patterns, yarns, life, pets, remodeling projects, gardening, and more.  It was impossible to be a stranger there even though I had never seen any of these women before.  That’s one of the beauties of enjoying what you do. You are happy, and it is contagious.

Lacking sufficient outlets for my knitting output, I’m seeking out more options for charitable knitting.  In addition to making caps for chemo patients, I have found another great way to spread the knitting love.  When Julie, of In a Yarnbasket, proposed that we make pet beds as a service project for the Humane Society, I jumped at the opportunity. They knit up fast, which is very satisfying. Recently we had a stuffing party with the following result–5 pet beds!

catbeds

Hopefully pets will find comfort in the beds while at the shelter and, better yet, they get to take them home when they are adopted. I might add that my kitties test drove one of the pet beds and proclaimed it quite satisfactory! Time to start another!

Finally, for those of you who are wondering about “Dorothy Jean.” When I was a little girl growing up on a sheep farm, my Dad thought it would be good for me to have my very own sheep.  It reinforced a sense of connection to the animals, as well as responsibility.  I cannot recall why I chose the name Dorothy Jean. Each fall when the sheep returned from the field to the barn, I asked Dad to locate her out for me (most of the adult females looked much alike to my untutored eyes).  Scanning the flock assembled in the dimly lit barn, he found her and put a blue chalk mark on her back so I could always spot her. She looked a lot like this:

sheep face

Dorothy Jean always had twins, but I quickly learned not to become too attached to them because the boys automatically became market lambs. But  I loved knowing that I could always count on Dorothy Jean to be there. Years later I asked Dad how he could always spot her. I should have known!  He picked a sheep who looked like she would twin because the money from the sale of her lambs went into my bank account!

Today the scent of lanolin sends me back decades to that more innocent time when I thought ewes dug their lambs up from the straw and knew that Dorothy Jean would always be there for me.  Could that be one of the resons I love knitting so much?

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.