Camp Nanowrimo

2014-Participant-Facebook-Cover
Writing a blog entry is on the back burner for the moment while I participate in Camp Nanowrimo, a virtual writing community that challenges you to write a novel in a month. I started out optimistically on July 1 with a target of 50,000 words. After all, that is a good length for a young adult novel, which is what I’m attempting to write. By the end of the second week I had reduced my target to 40,000. Ask me what it is now!

Camp Nanowrimo participants are grouped in cabins with others working on similar projects. Other than a few introductions on the first day or two, my cabin was amazingly silent. Perhaps I misunderstood? I had expected messages to fly back and forth as we compared notes about our stories. I thought we might even read each others’ work.

A few days ago I scrolled to the bottom of the cabin page and saw a notification. “Cabin not working for you? Opt out of this cabin. New cabin assignments will be made in 19 hours.” Hmmm. My current cabin wasn’t doing much for me. What did I have to lose?

The next morning I logged on to find myself in a vibrant, active, and friendly cabin. As I scrolled through my new cabin mates’ profiles I made another important discovery. Most of them had chosen 30,000 words as their goal for the month! They reasoned that writing 1,000 words a day was reasonable, and I agreed. By changing my goal to match theirs, I am now nearly halfway to my target. So I’d best get on with the story!

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.