Knitted Knockers

Knitted K in process

If you’ve been following my previous posts, you know that since moving to Bloomington I’ve been on a quest to find others in the community who wish to do charity knitting. I’ve made a pet bed for the humane society, several chemo caps for my friend from the Farmers’ Market, and have found a group that makes comfort (some call them prayer) shawls for people who could use a knitted hug during difficult periods in their lives. When winter approaches I’ll be taking my knitted hats, scarves, and mittens to the Shalom Community Center.

But now I’d like to share a little about the most recent project…Knitted Knockers!  Am I joking?  No! This is a wonderful project sponsored by our most excellent knitting ship (In a Yarn Basket) during the month of July. Each Wednesday from 2-4 p.m., women have gathered around a table, their pointy sticks and cotton yarn in hand, to create knitted prosthetic breasts for cancer survivors who have had a mastectomy. As we learned, the knitted ones are lighter and more comfortable than silicone prosthetics.

As other women enter the store, the knocker knitters call out a greeting–“Are you here to knit boobs?”

This group loves to talk, and the shop is seldom quiet. Several women debated the size and shape of the nipple. “How big are you going to make it?” “Do we have to put one on it or an we make a smooth boob?” Some had envy: “Your nipple looks better than mine!”

As I contemplated color and size, I tuned into the conversation to my right. “Have I got a nipple story for you!” the woman began before relaying how her mother had her breasts removed in the 1950, not because of breast cancer but because of mastitis. Thank goodness for advances in medical science since then. And yet I think most of us around the room could have relayed a story about a friend or family member’s battle with cancer, so we still have a long way to go.

I hope the women who receive these knitted prosthetics can feel the love and laughter knitted into each one. If you would like to give it a try, you can find patterns online (just Google “Knitted Knockers”). Your local cancer treatment center will be glad you did.

In case you are curious, I opted for pink and decided on a C cup. This ball of yarn should make five or six of various sizes. Next time I will knit them in bronze or brown. Here are a few examples of the finished products. Beautiful, aren’t they!

Knitted K finished

 

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.