“Busy”

Before I retired, other retirees kept telling me that they were “busier than ever” now that they were no longer working.  The statement disturbed me because one of the things I always disliked during my career was the sense that people were competing to see who could be the busiest. It was like a badge of honor to be “crazy busy,” to have the heaviest workload, to see who stayed up the latest or who graded the most exams or served on the largest number of committees. I definitely did not want my retirement to be more of the same.

But now, as my retiree friends promised, I find myself busier than ever. The difference is, I fill my days with things I WANT to do. And I happen to be someone who likes to be active. So I volunteer for several community organizations and go to lots of plays and concerts. I have time for exercise, and while walking or cycling I have time to appreciate the beautiful blue sky or the bunnies darting across the grass because my mind isn’t filled with work residue. It’s such a luxury to have the time to do things carefully and thoughtfully rather than hastily.

I’d write more on the joys of retirement, but I have a “busy” day ahead!

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.