Hannah’s first pumpkin

Long before moving to Bloomington, I heard friends here talking about the students they hosted through Bloomington Worldwide Friendship (BWF). After my Fulbright semester in Vietnam, I knew that I wanted to take part in this organization because it would allow me to continue interacting with students from that region of the world.

As a BWF host, you do things to help your student feel welcome as she or he acclimates to life in the U.S.  A week ago, BWF held a picnic. It was a gorgeous autumn day, just perfect for playing Frisbee, racing with an egg on a spoon, and taking a boat ride on Lake Lemon.  Hannah and I wore big smiles as we took part in the festivities and piled our plates high with all kinds of good picnic potluck food.

Lake Lemon Picnic 2014 003

This past weekend we celebrated Hannah’s birthday with a small dinner party, a birthday cake accompanied by the singing of “Happy Birthday to You,” the making of a wish, and blowing out candles. After that, it was time for pumpkin carving. Hannah did a great job! You would never know this was her first effort, or that she loves kitties!

Hannah and KaseyIn other news, my application for a booth at the Bloomington Holiday Market has been accepted–yea! This means that I’m knitting up a storm so I will have a plentiful supply of handmade items ready for display and sale. One of my goals is to knit up the yarn I already have (my stash has gotten a bit out of control). The November 29 deadline is a great motivator!

Happy fall to all of you!

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.