Addicted to knitting…and rediscovering the joy of cycling

Jo on Sanibel bike ride

Okay, I admit it. I am addicted to knitting. But if I’m going to have an addiction, there could be worse things, right? I won’t list them since some of them might be yours!  I’m semi-addicted to reading and writing, and wish I could be more addicted to exercise. But I cannot deny my desire to hold two pointy sticks in my hands, to feel the thread moving from the ball into a knitted item, and to feast on the lovely textures and colors.

Now that I am retired, I can knit every day, almost any time of day I wish. My knitting is never very far from me…I keep yarn and needles in the car and in my bag in case I find myself waiting somewhere. It soothes me, and keeps me from losing my patience with lines and bureaucracies, for if I am knitting, I am doing something constructive.

Twenty eight years ago I lived I Los Angeles, and I was going through a non-knitting phase, one of several in my life. I soaked up the sun, read endlessly, and worked just a little too much. Carole, who worked in the GSLIS office at UCLA decided an intervention was necessary and invited me to a once-a-month sewing circle at her apartment. I don’t remember what I worked on at the time, but there were women doing macramé and quilting and making greeting cards. As we laughed together and ate apple pie, I felt grounded. Los Angeles as a far cry from my home in the Midwest but Carole’s apartment felt like home that night.

Now I call the Midwest home once more and I love it there, but this January finds me in sunny Florida. Wow, is it nice to wear shorts and feel the sun on my skin. But I am still knitting. Thanks to my friend Jill (who suggested that I could tuck balls of yarn into the wheel well of the car), I have plenty of yarn on hand. Still, if someone suggests a visit to local yarn shops, I am more than ready to go.

While it may never become an addiction like knitting, I’m also rediscovering my love of cycling…43 miles in 3 days, not bad for starters. Of course, it helps that the terrain (so far) is flat!  Cycling reminds me of my New Year’s resolutions:

1. Be healthy (diet and exercise).

2. Connect with others.

3. Pursue my passions, especially knitting and writing.

4. Participate and be mindful.

5. Simplify.

Here’s wishing you a Happy New Year! May your addictions be healthy ones!

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.