Too Busy to Blog!

DSC02881

Too busy to blog?  Really? But I’m retired. How can I be too busy to blog? Let me list a few of the ways.

1. Cycling. I’m discovering the fun of going places on my bike. For a long time I have viewed cycling as exercise, but now that I’m cycling almost every day, I’m getting good enough to go places and see things while on my bike. Yesterday we rode through the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge at 7:30 a.m. Just the birds, us cyclists, and a few dozen photographers with telescopic lenses.

2. Knitting. It’s an addiction! In January I finished 33 projects. While I make some items multiple times, I now have the freedom to experiment with new patterns. There’s so much pleasure in seeing designs emerge from a ball of yarn.

3. Reading. I have loved to read since second grade, when my mother introduced me to the public library and story books. This year I have committed to reading 50 books, and I’m well on my way. But after years of work, when reading for pleasure competed with the “must-do” activities that filled my  life, I still struggle to give myself permission to read.

4. Writing letters. At least this falls under the category of writing. If my mailbox is any indication, letter writing is a lost art. Recently I went to the Naples Art Fest, where I searched booths for notecards. When I finally found some, the artist told me that he used to sell $500 worth of notecards at a fair, but those days are long gone because people aren’t writing notes and letter any more. Well I’m going to buck that trend!

5. Walking. I love to walk. It’s a time for taking note of the ordinary, for thinking, for dreaming, for socializing with other walkers. And it feels good too!

6. Yoga. I used to have a delightful friend named Carole who loved Yoga so much that when she retired she purchased a lifetime membership at a yoga studio. She told everyone she met that she or he must do yoga. She glowed from doing yoga. Because of her, I did yoga, but after she lost her fight to cancer, I stopped. This past week I attended a yoga class, and it was every bit as wonderful as I remembered. Namaste.

7. Dulcimer lessons. I love music. Years ago I bought a dulcimer, but it sat in the corner of my living room in its case. Since I couldn’t play perfectly the first time I tried, I got discouraged. At last I’ve found a dulcimer teacher, and I am slowly learning how to play. I’d write more, but I have a lesson this morning. And then I’m going to a class to make note cards, and then there’s a bike ride….

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.