Excuses…

IMG_0696

It’s been too long since my last post!  I’ve As the few of you who follow this blog will realize, I have been negligent in writing posts these past few weeks. Week after week I had every intention of writing. But I didn’t!

First, the edited copy of my forthcoming book arrived, and for a full two weeks I devoted myself to combing through the subtle changes suggested by my editor and marveling at all the work I put into this project. It will be so good to see the book on the shelf later this year if all goes well.

Then, to reward myself for finishing most of the changes, I decided to ride my bike as much as possible during my last week in Florida. During the past 7 weeks I fell in love with cycling again. It helped that I was riding on flat roads. Cycling in Florida was as close to perfect as I could imagine–sunshine, warm temperatures, and lots of good bike trails to share with friends. But then I crashed. After all this time of worrying about traffic, I hit a small rock and went down hard at 15 miles per hour. Long story short, I have a broken humerus and my right arm is in a sling (and will be for some weeks to come). It was pretty painful the first week, but has now improved to uncomfortable. I’m learning just how underutilized my left hand has been all these years.

On the return trip to Indiana, we saw a sign for The Knaughty Knitter on the highway, and had to make a stop in Murfreesboro, Tennessee to see it. This has to be one of the best store names I’ve seen.  I resisted buying yarn since my stash is out of control, but I loved the shop! At present,  knitting is a bit difficult but I’m coping by using larger needles.

My shoulder says it s time to sign off for now!

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Knitting Stores. Bookmark the permalink.