Fiber Event at Greencastle!

IMG_0799 Greencastle Fiber Event 004 IMG_0806Greencastle Fiber Event 003Yesterday was a very good day! After breakfast we drove about 75 minutes to the Putnam County Fairgrounds. What a beautiful day for a drive through southern Indiana’s rolling countryside. Plum-colored redbud trees accented forests of vivid spring green, a herd of buffalo grazed in a field near Ellettsville, and young lambs frolicked through fields while ewes patiently chewed their cuds.

We arrived early to find the fairgrounds already teaming with people. Vendors had set up in two large buildings while food stands offered almonds, pretzels, hot dogs, and more.  I lost all track of time once I entered the first building with its colorful booths and friendly vendors. The bags of wool transported me back to my father’s barn years ago when I helped during lambing season. Women sat spinning its fibers into thread. And all around me I saw colorful hand-dyed wool and lovely knitted, crocheted, and woven creations.

For years I’ve said that I will learn to knit lace when I was retired because it requires too much concentration. Well, the time is now! I fell in love with a chevron lace shawl, and the woman at the booth assured me that I could do it. Well, we shall see!

As I left the second building my eyes spotted a pile of crazy-colored yarn. I made the mistake of reaching out to touch it. As you can tell from the final photo, I love the colors and its silky softness. Who knows, maybe one of you will see it someday as a finished product!

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.