Diners, Darien, and Delaware

Write by the Lake 2015 006All summer long I had good intentions about writing blog entries. I made lists of topics, but somehow most of them didn’t morphed onto the page. Earlier this summer, for example, I wanted to write  about the amazing assortment of Little Libraries Deb encountered during her bike rides in in Madison, Wisconsin. But I didn’t.

I wanted to write more about the feed sack quilt project, but it’s not done! I wanted to write about my postcard collection, but I need to do just a little more research before I share with the world (or my ten or so readers). I love reading about other people’s knitting projects, and I’ve had plenty, but somehow they haven’t made it into a blog entry…yet.

Nancy's Birthday 2015--89 years young 002Why the sluggishness when it comes to writing blog entries?  All summer long other activities have summoned me away from the computer. “Come outside,” they say. “Take a walk, ride your bike, go to the garden, visit friends, host birthday parties.” (Happy Birthday, Nancy!) If it was too hot to be outside, they urged me to work on my novel, knit, sew, read, and write postcards, or organize photographs.

And then there’s travel. Between trips to Wisconsin and the East Coast (twice), I’ve covered a lot of ground, and wish I could do it justice.

Trip to Darien and Delaware 028This year I celebrated my birthday on a road trip to Darien, Connecticut, where Deb’s Mom attended her 65th high school reunion. We were in Hyde Park, New York, visiting the Eleanor Roosevelt National Historic Site (her homey Valkill cottage, with its mismatched upholstered furniture and hundreds of framed photos on the walls) and the more stately Franklin D. Roosevelt House and Museum. Visiting presidential libraries just rose to the top of my bucket list! I love interactive exhibits, for instance, this one where you could sit in a 1930s kitchen and listen to one of FDR’s Fireside chats.

indexWe could have dined at the Culinary Institute of America for my birthday, but instead I chose the Eveready Diner in Hyde Park. I love diners, don’t you? For my birthday dessert I chose a most unusual lemon meringue pie with an inch of lemon cake between the lemon pudding and the meringue. Yummy!

Trip to Darien and Delaware 036Before leaving Poughkeepsie, we took time to ride/walk the Walkway Over the Hudson, the largest pedestrian bridge in the world at 1.28 miles long. From this vantage point, we could look north to the Roosevelt home and the Vanderbilt estate.  (Notice, the bike seat is taped to protect it from the rain, which accompanied us during the first portion of our trip).

Trip to Darien and Delaware 067On to Darien, where we visited the home, schools,and beaches where Lois spent her youth. Nineteen members of her class gathered at The Water’s Edge at Giovanni’s for great food and an enjoyable evening of reminiscing. The three pictured here began kindergarten in the fall of 1937!

Trip to Darien and Delaware 073After crossing New York’s George Washington Bridge early Sunday morning, we continued on to New Castle, Delaware, where William Penn landed in 1682. And to think, we’ve always associated him with Pennsylvania! Lois and Deb humored my interest in visiting the octagonal library and the cemetery, where we found interesting tombstone inscriptions from the 18th century.

Trip to Darien and Delaware 079

Trip to Darien and Delaware 076

But the trip wasn’t over. Cassie and her Moms gave us a warm welcome and showed us the highlights of Rehoboth Beach and Lewes (founded in 1631!).  By the time we left for home two mornings later, my face ached (in a good way) from all the smiles and laughter during our visit. I also left inspired to spend more time playing my dulcimer. We’ve gone, Cassie, maybe now you can get some rest!

Trip to Darien and Delaware 099

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.