End-of-summer bike ride

Fall Bike Ride 008 for webToday was a perfect day for an end-of-summer bike ride. Leaves crunched under my tires, reminding me that fall is in the air. Squirrels darted across the path, their mouths full of nuts, while cardinals flitted back and forth in the evergreen trees.

Earlier this summer my fracture healed well enough to get back on my bike, but I played it safe by riding “Big Blue,” the Volvo of bicycles. My cruising speed on it is about 11 miles per hour, and when I come to an intersection I can almost stand still on it without toppling over.

Recently, though, I’ve had a yearning to ride my Terry bicycle, the road bike I crashed on last February. Yesterday we brought it up from the basement, pumped up the tires, and I took it for a spin around the neighborhood. At first I didn’t feel very secure as I coasted downhill from our house on its thinner tires, and I had to remember how to shift the Terry’s gears, which are different from Big Blue’s. But then it felt more natural.

Today I took it out on the Clear Creek trail for a wonderful 15 mile ride.  The longer I rode, the more comfortable I felt on the thin tires and the faster I went.  Now, mind you, I’m not a speed demon, but this bike definitely cruises along faster than Big Blue. And it fits me perfectly! It should, it was made for a short woman!

If you asked which bike I prefer, it would be difficult to say. I love them both!

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to End-of-summer bike ride

  1. Kathy Dato says:

    So glad to hear you got back on the horse!

Comments are closed.