What’s in a Sign?

017.JPG

It was still dark last Friday morning when we drove to Sanibel Island, our destination the Ding Darling Nature Preserve. After stopping at Bennett’s for coffee, we reached the Preserve and found a rather empty parking lot. Only then did we realize it closed on Fridays!

At that point we decided to ride our bikes to the tip of Captiva, about a twenty mile round trip. I kept my eyes peeled for birds, but since most of the birds I saw were on signs I decided to shift my focus. I envy people who can come up with clever plays on words. Captiva is captivating!

034.JPG

Ever since seeing Robin Williams in “Dead Poets Society,” I’ve tried to live by the motto “Carpe Diem,” Latin for seize the day, so naturally I liked this one.

IMG_0701.JPG

 

And what about the message on this alligator. I don’t know about you, but I like thinking about my home s a happy destiny.

IMG_0688.JPG

For those who like to toast the day, we have the very colorful Margaritavilla.

IMG_0685.JPG

Many homes sport signs indicating it is “Another day in Paradise,” but this is the first I’ve seen spelled this way.

IMG_0687.JPG

Simple, but true.  Doesn’t it make you want to stand by the shore and listen to the waves lapping against the beach? Pure bliss…a shore thing.

 

 

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Bird watching, Cycling, Florida, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.