Why do I love living in Bloomington? Let me count the ways.

1. You can walk out your back door and find a baby deer.

IMG_0874-Baby Deer 2017

2. You an attend a harpsichord concert at the Wylie House, listening to talented musicians from the Jacobs School of Music perform in a charming nineteenth-century setting. The Early Music Festival and the Historic Performance Institute are amazing.

IMG_3231-Harpsichord Wylie House

Tonight we heard the Historic Performance Institute goes Pop at the Serendipity Martini Bar, a nicely restored Art Deco setting. Imagine early musical instruments playing the music of Cyndi Lauper, Cher, and Madonna!IMG_0898-Serendipity

3. We have two great yarn shops–In a Yarn Basket and Yarns Unlimited. Knitting this shawl makes me do what the label promises:  knit, relax, smile. Tomorrow I’m taking a private lesson to learn how to knit socks from the toe up. If there’s something you want to learn you can probably do it here.

IMG_0884-Knit Relax Smile

4. For example, you can take piano lessons! Most of my life I was too busy to practice, but now I can indulge my desire to make all kinds of music. Last year I took French horn lessons. I continue to play it in the Bloomington Community Band (our first concert is this weekend), but I’m also taking piano lessons. My excellent teacher, Leighann Daihl, wisely started me at the beginning even though I have played before. What a great way to diagnose my strengths and weaknesses while playing fun tunes.

IMG_0899-Piano music

5. A friend recently observed that these days I seem to be spending more time making music  than writing.  Actually, I am pursuing a new writing project, but I don’t want to jinx myself by talking about it. Plus, writing is such a slow process for me, and it’s immensely satisfying to do things that offer immediate gratification.  Like making earrings, which are displayed here on a felted bowl.

IMG_0883-Earrings

6. You can get to know international students through Bloomington Worldwide Friendship. We’ve enjoyed hosting Hannah, from Myanmar, for the past three years. What a joy to celebrate her graduation from the Kelley School of Business earlier this month.

IMG_0829-Hannah

There are a million other reasons why I love living in Bloomington, but they will have to wait for another time because I had a lesson today, and it’s time to try out my new piano pieces!

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in animals, crafts, music, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why do I love living in Bloomington? Let me count the ways.

  1. All wonderful reasons, though the photos of the fawn and your earrings were my favs!

Comments are closed.