Breaking News

These days, news anchors seem to think everything is “Breaking News.” It often reminds me of the boy who cried wolf–eventually everyone ignored his cries.

That said, I have a piece of news to share. I don’t normally toot my own horn, but it’s not every day someone says I’m a winner. Plus, I love the design of this slide, which was used at the award ceremony last weekend.

CNF-indomitable

The Golden Crown Literary Society, which awards “Goldies,” was founded in 2004 with a mission to educate, promote, and recognize lesbian fiction and creative non-fiction.  I was a bit surprised to learn my biography of publisher Barbara Grier won the award for creative non-fiction, but then one reviewer did say it reads like a novel.

Indomitable also was a finalist for a Lambda Literary Award in the Lesbian Memoir/Biography category,  and received an Honorable Mention in the Biography/Autobiography/Memoir category at the San Francisco Book Festival.

 

About JP in B-town

JP grew up on a sheep farm in northwest Ohio. She learned to knit by the age of ten, and loves the smell of wool. She fell in love with reading, a habit she fed with weekly visits to a nearby Carnegie Public Library. Reading fed her desire to become a writer, and her dream of traveling the world. She resides in Bloomington, Indiana, where she continues to knit and write.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.